Scissor Lock : Above and Below

Scissor Lock is various instruments by Marcus Whale forming music which is most of the time post-rock but sometimes kind of ambient to kind of accesible electronica to kind of drone to intuition music.

recorded and edited by Marcus Whale during 2006
all songs written and performed by Marcus Whale
except “Fractions”, written and performed by Marcus Whale and David Bruce
photography and layout by Marcus Whale
Tracklisting :
1. Below
2. Knives For Christ
3. Fractions
4. Entropy
5. Above
6. Summer Rain
7. Here Is Your Gas Mask
8. Looking To The Stars

Download from here.

The Silent Ballet Compilation : Volume 2

The second volume of The Silent Ballet Compilation series continues where the first left off in its pledge to work hand in hand with independent artists from around the globe. The response to the first volume was huge; unfortunately we are unable to accommodate everyone who would like to be included in the series, but hopefully in due time most will receive a spot in the limelight.

We remain committed to presenting some of the finest emerging artists to the world, offering previews of exciting future releases, and unearthing exclusive and rare tracks for our readers. Of course, all of this is done pro bono, and the existence of this series relies solely on the generosity of the bands and labels involved, whom we encourage you to support if you find the compilation to your liking.

A full version of The Silent Ballet Webzine will be launching later this year. We do hope it satisfies the need for an intermediary resource in this ever populous culture of music.

Tracklisting :
1. Magyar Posse – Intercontinental Hustle
2. God is an Astronaut – Tempus Horizon
3. International Karate – A Night Without Sleep
4. The Ascent of Everest – Moving Mountains
5. All Angels Gone – Stephen H
6. Sweek – A Dead Sleeping Forest
7. From the Sky – When the Sun Sets the Clouds on Fire
8. Atlantis – Constantinople
9. You.May.Die.In.The.Desert – Can I Get More Steel in My
10. Gifts From Enola – Early Morning Ambulance
11. Capulet – Champs

Download from here.

Transit : Harmattan


Transit are four Belgian post-rocking ornithologists, Jeroen (guitar), Toon (bass), Koen (drums) and Nick (guitar), with a passion for nature, emotions and all kinds of music. This is more or less the essence of Transit; more words about us would just be tiresome; so we just hope you enjoy our music as much as we enjoy playing it!

‘˜Harmattan’™ is no more than a demo we recorded in our rehearsal room using only 6 mics (lo-fi, old school; and actually broke at that moment :), but more will come in November when we release our first EP.

Tracklisting :
1. Maza
2. Long Song
3. Matorral

Download from here.

Skyhaze : Anthology 2005 – 2006

Skyhaze was formed in the middle of 2005 as a means to produce relaxation music for a local Complimentary Therapist (Venus Light Therapies). As the songs debuted on Myspace, interest in the project increased and the decision was made to make Skyhaze a full-time project. Skyhaze consists solely of Steve Cowan (of FearOfHatred and PlaguesFire fame) who is usually found singing and playing guitar in Death and Black Metal projects.

The first album to be created was ‘Score For An Unwritten Movie’ in late 2005. This was quickly followed by the sophomore effort ‘Evening Songs’ which debuted a more beat-orientated feel. Finally, in 2006 the album ‘The Year That Never’ was created. This was a return to the sound created by ‘Score’ but with greater epic scope.

Due to the popularity of PlaguesFire and FearOfHatred, Skyhaze is on a metaphorical back-burner. However, it is planned that a new album will see release in 2007.

Tracklisting :
1. Fields
2. Pialad
3. Song One
4. Indecisions
5. Oceans Apart
6. Under The Ocean
7. Shore
8. Cold Evening
9. A Vastness
10. Tempted
11. Quieten
12. Air
13. Distant Waves
14. Tortured Song
15. Sorrow
16. Alluring

Download from here.

The Silent Ballet Compilation : Volume 1

This compilation was compiled by the Lost Children Net Label and The Silent Ballet, a webzine that has been in the works for quite some time. The Silent Ballet is a webzine that will focus upon instrumental and postrock artists, as well the artists that catch our attention from other genres. Its main goal is to create a stronger instrumental community across the world and to function as a portal that actively brings musicians and listeners into an open discussion. This compilation is a means to formally announce to the world the conception of The Silent Ballet. Expect it to open its doors in full functionality in Fall of 2006, if not sooner, and look to the webpage for more information as the date approaches.

The Lost Children Net Label seeks to distribute music created by artists with humble budgets to all corners of the globe. The cost to the audience is, of course, nothing. Lost Children does not believe that in today’s technological world an artist should be unable to deliver his music to a willing listener just because he does not have suffcient label representation. Music is a joy in all of our lives and no one should be deprived of it.

The meeting of these two forces resulted in a compilation of artists pushing the instrumental and independent scenes in new and creative ways. A big thanks goes out to all the bands and labels involved in this compilations; everyone’s effort is greatly appreciated.

Tracklisting :
1. Caspian – Quovis – Further Up – Further In
2. Samuel Jackson Five – If You Show Off the Milk, Who’s Gonna Buy the Cow?
3. Neil on Impression – Stars Paint the Forest Gold
4. We vs. Death – And How To Translate It
5. Foxhole – Forgiving Monarch
6. Yndi Halda – We Flood Empty Lakes (A Lily remix)
7. Theta Naught – Calneva Drive
8. Joy Wants Eternity – From Embrace to Embrace
9. Once We Were – Cut Corners
10. Mt – Add Obvious Errors
11. UpC DownC LeftC RightC ABC + Start – Simple Reminder (Anger Is Not a Motive)

Download from here.

Part Rocket : Kneel Before the Throne and Drink the Blood of your Own

Part Rocket is a musical collective born in Cardiff and now residing in London. They produce leftfield instrumental music, remaining true to the experimental nature of post-rock, weaving from quiet and rhythmic, to full on intense and distorted mayhem whilst melodies come and go as they please.

‘Kneel Before the Throne and Drink the Blood of your Own’ is the second EP from Part Rocket, the first ‘Good Bye Morning Satellite’ is available from their website

Tracklisting :
1. Midnight in Some Burning Tower
2. Cosby, Bills and Cash

Download from here.